Sustainability Committee Report for Hawai'i-CC Senate January 25, 2019 (revised)

The Hawai'i-CC Sustainability Committee met for the first time on November 27, 2018.

Members include Richard Cowan, Lew Nakamura, Debbie Weeks, Kristine, Kotecki, No'el Tagab-Cruz, Sam Giordanengo (co-chair), and Drew Kapp (co-chair).

The meeting included introductions, brainstorming about a path forward, and sharing about past work of the Committee.

Some members of the Committee will focus on Sustainability designation for courses, and other members will focus on sustainability initiatives on campus.

Specific items discussed included a process for identifying courses for Sustainability designation, inviting faculty to submit proposals, developing a timeline, etc.. Ideas for making the Manono campus more sustainable were also shared, some also as part of the campus physical redevelopment.

The Committee's next meeting will be in late January 2019.

Mahalo.

Sustainability Co-Chair Drew Kapp, Jan 23, 2019