

Academic Sustainability Committee of Hawai'i Community College Report for Academic Faculty Senate Meeting on December 11, 2020

Membership in Academic Year 2020-21

Aimee Maclennan (Pālamanui-MNS)

Debbie Weeks, Co-Chair (MNS)

Drew Kapp, Co-Chair (SOCS)

Ka'ea Lyons (Pālamanui-HLS-HUM)

Kate DeSoto (GSSS)

Kristine Kotecki (ENG)

Lew Nakamura (AG-CTE/MNS)

No'el Tagab-Cruz (HLS-HUM)

Sam Giordanengo (HUM)

Committee Report

- Committee Meeting
 - Last Meeting of Fall 2020 Semester: Dec 10, 2020
- UH System Sustainability Curriculum Coordination Council Meeting: Nov 25, 2020
 - Drew & Debbie met with Council Chair and Sustainability representatives from most other
 CCs to coordinate efforts to strengthen and have approved ASCs and S-Designation at all
 CCs, using system-wide standards, shared best practices, hallmarks and a course matrix
- S-Designation & Academic Subject Certificate
 - Revised ASC Proposal, S-Designation Process, Request for ongoing acceptance of 14 previously-approved S-Designated course sections for Fall 2021: CRC forwarded to Faculty Senate for approval at Dec 11, 2020 Meeting
- Future planning and implementation
 - o RISO: Student Elections & Spring Planning Meeting: Dec 11, 2020
 - Lā Honua ~ Earth Day 2021
 - Initial planning efforts have involved No'el, Ka'ea, Debbie, Drew
 - Second Planning Meeting: Dec 7, 2020
- Kauhale/Environmental Sustainability Committee
 - Conditionally approved, seeking members
- VISTA Program 2021
 - Work Plan & Recruitment: Ongoing

Mahalo. Sustainability Co-Chairs Drew Kapp and Debbie Weeks, December 6, 2020