

Academic Sustainability Committee of Hawai'i Community College Report for Academic Faculty Senate Meeting on May 7, 2021

Membership in Academic Year 2020-21

Aimee Maclennan (Pālamanui-MNS)

Debbie Weeks, Co-Chair (MNS)

Drew Kapp, Co-Chair (SOCS)

Ka'ea Lyons (Pālamanui-HLS-HUM)

Kate DeSoto (GSSS)

Kristine Kotecki (ENG)

Lew Nakamura (AG-CTE/MNS)

No'el Tagab-Cruz (HLS-HUM)

Sam Giordanengo (HUM)

Committee Report

- Committee Meetings 2:00PM
 - Last meeting May 6, visit with Carrie Kuwada Phipps & Dr. Albie Miles UH West Oʻahu on
 Sustainable Community Food Systems BAS Program & Transforming Hawaiʻi Food Systems
- Committee Chairpersonship for 2021-22 decided on May 6
- S-Designation & Academic Subject Certificate
 - o Co-Chairs attended CASSC Meeting April 28 to discuss ASC in Sustainability
 - Accepting new S-designation applications for Spring 2022 during first 8 weeks of Fall 2021
 - ASC Sustainability Flyer for Fall 2021
- Lā Honua ~ Earth Day 2021
 - o <u>Lā Honua Symposium</u>
 - 395 Registrants (44% were Hawai'i CC students, 7% were Hawai'i CC faculty/staff)
 - >330 actual attendees (April 19, 21-23)
 - Earth Week special recognition to Ka'ea
- Sustainability Webpage updated
- <u>Campus Community Garden</u> summer trainings
- Service acknowledgements Lew, Kate, Aimee

Mahalo. Sustainability Co-Chairs Drew Kapp and Debbie Weeks, May 3, 2021