Pictures of Hawaii Community College
Academic Support Unit

Mission of the Academic Support Unit
The Academic Support Unit (ASU) supports the needs of instructional programs, as well as academic support units to promote student learning in curricular and co-curricular endeavors.

Academic Support Unit (ASU) Unit Outcomes (developed and tentatively approved by ASU, March 1, 2013)

  1. The ASU will provide resources and services to faculty and staff to enable them to efficiently carry out their duties and responsibilities.
  2. The ASU will provide resources and services to promote student success.

Unit Outcomes within the Academic Support Unit

Name Location E-mail Phone # Title
Academic and Administrative Support
  1. makes announcements in a timely manner regarding HawCC faculty and lecturers participating in eCAFE.
  2. makes edits in a timely manner to the HawCC database of eCAFE for faculty and lecturers participating in eCAFE.
  3. Twenty percent (20%) of HawCC policies are new or have been revised by the end of each academic year.
Ellen Okuma PB1-3 okuma@hawaii.edu 934-2646 Instructor Outreach Librarian
Banner Support
  1. provides accurate and timely updates to the college catalog.
  2. provides accurate and timely updates to the Banner database.
  3. provides Banner System training for clerical staff.
Sherrie Ann
Straslicka-Walker
CH-10 straslic@hawaii.edu 934-2520
933-3237 Fax
Education Specialist
Computer Services
  1. provides and maintains information technology college-wide.
  2. supports system-wide information technology initiatives.
Stephen Schulte MC 387-105 schulte@hawaii.edu 934-2570
934-2571Fax
IT Specialist
Cathy Nishie MC 387-105 cnishie@hawaii.edu 934-2570
Office Assistant III
O. Scot Rosehill MC 387-105 scot.rosehill@hawaii.edu 934-2570
IT Specialist
Glenn Proctor MC 387-105 gproctor@hawaii.edu 934-2570
IT Specialist
Brett Okajima MC 387-105 bokajima@hawaii.edu 934-2570
IT Specialist
Curriculum Support
  1. provides resources and services to faculty and staff to manage and maintain the College’s curriculum information.
  2. works with faculty and staff to ensure that the curriculum information stored in the College’s curriculum management software system is current, accurate, and complete.
Mitchell Okuma CH-10 mokuma@hawaii.edu 934-2524 Education Specialist - Curriculum
Data Technology Support
  1. will provide accurate data in a timely manner.
  2. will extract secondary data to generate reports requested from administration, faculty and staff.
  3. will create and maintain local user databases.
  4. will develop applications to extract and analyze data as required.
Jason Santos 346-108 jhsantos@hawaii.edu 934-2645 IT System Programmer
Tyler Yoshiyama 346-108 tylerty@hawaii.edu 934-2644 IT Specialist
Edwin H. Mookini Library
  1. The student will evaluate information and its sources critically (UHCC common SLO).
  2. The library will provide an introduction on how to find and evaluate information.
  3. The library will provide access to resource materials.
Lari-Anne Au Library LRC 235B larianne@hawaii.edu 932-7510 Hawaiʻi Community College Librarian
Institutional Assessment Office
  1. provides training and support to develop, align, and assess institutional, unit, program and course outcomes.
  2. maintains and publishes assessment documentation and reports.
  3. collaborates with administrators, divisions/departments/units leadership and faculty/staff to provide assessment activities that foster continuous improvement.
James Kiley PB5-3 kileyj@hawaii.edu 934-2649 Institutional Assessment Coordinator
Institutional Research Office
  1. will communicate a clear process for requesting data, information, and services to the campus.
  2. will provide data, training, and support to the College for Annual and Comprehensive Program & Unit Reviews.
  3. provides data and information to the campus.
Shawn Flood 346-118 sgflood@hawaii.edu 934-2648 Institutional Analyst
Instructional Technology Support Office
  1. will provide Laulima training to support faculty in integrating current instructional technology into the curriculum.
  2. will provide administration, faculty and staff clear and current policy and procedural information about distance education.
  3. will support students in their online courses by facilitating Laulima orientations.
Leanne Urasaki 346-109 lurasaki@hawaii.edu 934-2647 ITSO - Instructional Technology Developer
Helen Torigoe 346-108 htorigoe@hawaii.edu 934-2644 ITSO - Academic Support Specialist
The Learning Center and Hale Kea Advancement and Testing Center
  1. Students who receive tutoring will pass their tutored course (System-wide SLO).
  2. TLC/HKATC will provide tutoring services for students to support their academic success.
  3. TLC/HKATC will provide computer access for students.
  4. HKATC will provide the College and community with testing services.
Gwen Kimura 334-LCR-117 gwenk@hawaii.edu 934-2533 Interim Learning Center Coordinator
Betty Okada 334-LCR-113 bokada@hawaii.edu 934-2532 Clerk-Steno
Kalyan Meola 334-LCR-1145 kalyan@hawaii.edu 934-2530 Educational Specialist
Nancy Schein MC 387 schein@hawaii.edu 934-2540 Education Specialist
Lori-Ann Flores MC 387 loriannf@hawaii.edu 934-2540 Education Specialist
Media Services (Hilo)
  1. provides and maintains media and media services to faculty, staff and students to help them accomplish their tasks and mission.
  2. completes trouble calls and problem resolution as rapidly as possible, to reduce down-time for instruction and school operation.
Neal Uehara MC 386-5 nealu@hawaii.edu 934-2563 Media Design & Production
Joeseph Zappala MC 386-5 jzappala@hawaii.edu 934-2563 Media Design & Production
Web Support
  1. assists units and departments to meet the College's webpage needs.
  2. provides continuous support and improvement of the HawaiiCC web site by responding to faculty and staff in an effective and timely manner.
  3. provides a long range vision and strategy of the HawaiiCC web site which embodies current trends and emerging technologies.
Daniel Fernandez 346-139 danielpf@hawaii.edu 934-2643 Web Developer
West Hawai'i Library and Learning Center
  1. The student will evaluate information and its sources critically (UHCC common SLO).
  2. The library will provide an introduction on how to find and evaluate information.
  3. The library will provide access to resource materials.
Laurel Gregory WH B2 lgregory@hawaii.edu 969-8830 Librarian
Karen Au WH B2 karenau@hawaii.edu 969-8830 Educ Spec